Canadian Canola Growers Association

New Board of Directors and Executive at CCGA

March 9, 2012CCGA Press Release

​​​​​​​​​​​Winnipeg, MB  --  Canadian canola farmers elected their representatives to the Canadian Canola Growers Association (CCGA) board of directors during the organization’s annual general meeting held in Ottawa on March 7, 2012.

The board elected Todd Hames from Marwayne, Alberta to serve as President and Brett Halstead of Nokomis, Saskatchewan as Vice-President. In accepting his two-year term as President, Hames thanked the retiring directors including Ed Schafer, Brian Chorney and Stan Jeeves. “These directors have dedicated many years of service and provided strong leadership for Canada’s canola farmers,” said Hames. “We thank them for their commitment and wish them all the best.”

New to the board are Jack Froese from Manitoba Canola Growers Association, and Dale Leftwich and Franck Groeneweg from SaskCanola. Continuing their current terms are Barry Follensbee, B.C. Grain Producers Association; Colin Felstad and Marlene Caskey, Alberta Canola Producers Commission; Dale Gryba, Manitoba Canola Growers Association; and James McKinlay, Ontario Canola Growers Association.

The Canadian Canola Growers Association represents 43,000 canola farmers on national and international issues that impact farm profitability.

- 30 -

Kelly Green
Director of Communications
Phone: 204.789.8821